On my nightstand…

end table 023I currently have 3 books on my nightstand and while I realize that it’s difficult to read multiple books at a time, and virtually impossible to NOT have a favorite, what can I say…my choice completely varies on how I feel that night.

I’ve heard that what’s on the book shelf, or night stand in this case, can tell a lot about a person.  Joanna Goddard wrote a whole post about it here.  So I wonder, what do these choices reveal about me?

Where We Belong, by Emily Giffin.  This is my newest addition to the nightstand (started it over the weekend) and I’m only 30 pages away from finishing it.  Yes, I’m a sucker for any of Emily Giffin’s easy-breezy novels, and I’ve read all of them, except one.   The characters just have that ability to take you out of your own life, but still make you feel so much apart of theirs.

Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides.  …And this novel has been on my nightstand the longest.  I want to love it, the Pulitzer Prize Givers tell me to love it, but I’m already over 200 pages in and just can’t get into it.  I’m not sure at what point I should just throw in the towel.

Why Zebras Don’t Get Ulcers: The Acclaimed Guide to Stress, Stress-Related Diseases, and Coping, by Robert Sapolsky.  This book definitely gives off more of the “text-book” vibe, but it’s still interesting and pretty easy to read.  I bought the book because the author was speaking at one of my events and I thought it could just give me a little more insight on him, but you just really have to be in learning mode when choosing this one.

So tell me, what are you currently reading?

Photo above via Inspire Bohemia

3 responses

  1. Hey, like the blog! I’m currently reading Burr by Gore Vidal as well as An Incomplete Education: 3,684 Things You Should Have Learned but Probably Didn’t by Judy Jones.

      • So far its good. I’ve read a couple other works by Vidal, and I find his history close to accurate, but he likes to add his own little twist into the stories and characters he tells about.

Leave a Reply

