On the Hunt: Cookbooks

I recently created a pretty detailed budget for myself. The first month,  I spent as I normally do just to see where the money was going. I was completely SHOCKED to see how much money goes toward food.  Every morning, I’d find myself walking down to the cafe in my building at work, and usually back down for lunch as well, and then depending on how tired we were after work, we’d choose to either cook something at home or go out.  After seeing how much money we were spending, we decided to change our ways.  Don’t get me wrong, we LOVE to go out, but we’d rather save our money for a nice evening at a restaurant we will truly enjoy or have been dying to try.

So now that we are faced with this new challenge, I’ve been hunting blogs and websites far and wide for some of the best cookbooks out there.  I of course have my friends Ina, Giada and Nitza that I typically turn to, but am always on the hunt for some new ideas.  (And as a side note, yes, the Nitza Villapol cookbook is really $158 new. You can thank the Cuban government.)

Here are a few new ones I’ve been thinking of checking out!

One Pan Two PlatesOne Pan, Two Plates: More than 70 Complete Weeknight Meals for Two, by Carla Snyder

just square cover.inddAd Hoc at Home, by Thomas Keller

plenty-cookbookPlenty: Vibrant  Recipes from London’s Ottolenghi, by Yotam Ottolenghi

 

What are some of the must-have cookbooks in your kitchen?

Leave a Reply

